Bucket of Anything

Dooce disclaimer: this blog post is not sanctioned or supported of my current employer in any way. These are my personal rantings…

Yesterday at work it was officially announced that after five years, I would be leaving my current role and moving onto not only a new role, but working with an entirely different group in a number of weeks. I’ve been supporting my current business channel in an Operational role for all of these five years and have gone through two promotions since I started with the company. Granted, I work remotely, so my level of engagement with the frontline has been nominal to say the least in the last five years, but I have worked with the managers of this group closely and continuously for all of these five years.

After the announcement was sent out to my new and old teams, within three minutes, I received a welcome from a new team colleague, my new Director and my new VP. By end of the day yesterday, not one person outside of my immediate team sent me a note of congratulations or wished me well in my new role. Not one.

So, what does that say? Of course the leadership knew and I have been well supported in pursuing new opportunities for my career by my current Director and VP, but what does it say when the people that I’ve supported for five years have nothing to say to me?

I’ve realized that working in Operations is pretty much a thankless job. Although it’s probably one of THE most important groups within an organization, it doesn’t get the acknowledgement, accolades, thanks or respect that other more high profile groups get and I’m absolutely positive that my organization is no different from every other organization in Canada, big or small.

When people asked me what I did as a Business Analyst, I would say that anything that makes my business run is my purview; literally. How others regarded the Operations team mostly felt like, “I have no idea what to do…give it to a BA, which really stands for Bucket of Anything”.

from etsy.com

Operations Teams are responsible for making a business run; from education to talent management and development, to process fixes and product communications and updates, to crisis management and business continuity planning. Operations teams do it all, yet are seen by most as the workhorse of a team; one that usually gets the proverbial sugar cube once a year, and that’s really only if they’re lucky.

So, as you continue in your work today, ask yourself “How“. How do those informational updates get to you? How did that phone, PC and internet connection get to your desk? How you get your security badge? How prepared is your business in case H1N1 wipes out your workforce for weeks on end and what’s the plan? How can you fix the process that was pissing off your customers?

The next step of course is to recognize the WHO in all of that work and every time, you’re going to get an answer from someone in Operations. So, do the right thing and hug an Operations team member today and thank them for all the unseen work that they do to enable YOUR every day.

About KarenSD

Business Designer. Connector. Shift Disturber. Intrapreneur. Speaker. Teacher. Elephant Hunter. Feminist. FSE. COO, VP Business Design @ellipsisdigital View all posts by KarenSD

4 responses to “Bucket of Anything

Leave a Reply

