My vagina’s angry. It is. It’s pissed off.

My vagina’s angry. It is. It’s pissed off. ~The Angry Vagina, The Vagina Monologues

About 11 years ago, I sat in a theatre in Toronto with a gathering of girlfriends, waiting to see Margot Kidder, Amy Sky and Maggie Cassella deliver The Vagina Monologues. As expected, the content was compelling, enraging, emotional, and belly laugh inducing. When Maggie Cassella opened this monologue with the above quote, I laughed as every girlfriend I was with turned and looked at me, mouth agape, as if it was me up on the stage delivering the piece.

Yah. Sometimes, my vagina is angry, and it’s with good reason. Lately, it’s become really, really angry. Every day, I am assaulted with stories that reinforce how around the globe, women are still mostly regarded as either reproductive ovens, or disposable pussies. I read troubling accounts of atrocities being committed against women, which come under a variety of guises, from a variety of sources.

In Morocco, Amina Filali, a 16 year old girl committed suicide after being forced to marry her rapist.

In Arizona, legislators are pushing through a bill that would “require women who wish to have their contraception covered by their health insurance plans to prove to their employers that they are taking it to treat medical conditions.”

Even in my own backyard, a “gentleman’s club” (read: brothel) was being setup in The Tannery, the hub for technology companies and startups in the Kitchener-Waterloo region before someone got wise and shut the place down before it opened.

What. The. Fuck?!

The conservative assault on women’s rights is frighteningly alive and well in North America. One only has to look at the political headlines capturing the Republican candidates race to know how poorly regarded women are; from Rush Limbaugh, to Rick Santorum, to Mitt Romney, women are regarded as sluts, prostitutes or invalids that don’t know how to take care of ourselves or our families. These men are gaslighters and appallingly, openly misogynistic.

So are the Canadian Tory MPs that wish to re-open the abortion debate in Canada.

Again. What. The. Fuck?!

So, my reputation apparently precedes me. I’m known both in real life and online as the person that “calls it as I see it.” Yes, I’m the “elephant hunter” and while I may make some people uncomfortable, I’m way okay with that. I don’t accept gaslighting, nor cop outs, nor devil’s advocate stances just for the sake of it.

I demand accountability, rational thought, and intelligent discourse.

And as you try to belittle me by calling me emotional, let me save you trouble. Goddamn right I am emotional. These are my sisters, my daughters, my mothers that you’re fucking with. They’re my kin. I will fight for them, defend them, stand in front of them and behind them. They are me.

So, don’t call me a girl; I’m 42, have my period, and can vote. I’m a woman. Don’t patronize me as you talk about my “little” ideas, ones that you go ahead and use. Don’t avoid the dialogue by hiding behind niceties. Don’t pat me on the head, call me a bitch (unless you’ve got the balls to do it to my face), or undermine my opinion by sexualizing me. Seriously, suck my dick. And you know why I can say that? Because I have bigger balls than a lot of men I know.

So, here’s my theme song for today. Don’t like it? I don’t care. There are bigger issues than your ego at hand.

About KarenSD

Business Designer. Connector. Shift Disturber. Intrapreneur. Speaker. Teacher. Elephant Hunter. Feminist. FSE. COO, VP Business Design @ellipsisdigital View all posts by KarenSD

12 responses to “My vagina’s angry. It is. It’s pissed off.

  • dee brun

    I HAVE A HUGE DICK…it’s sits right in the middle of my grey matter and I tell people to suck it often!!

    And on this note, then can all SUCK IT…

    Great Post…well written, to the point and Balls to the Wall True…

    My Vagina has been Pissed off for a while…and a little itchy…but that’s a totally different post…

    I feel like our Fish Taco’s are swimming backwards into the dark ages…

    I try and teach my daughters to raise their Vaginas high (metaphor) and be strong and proud of it…

    So it just blows my mind that we are again fighting fights that we were fighting back when our Vaginas were unshaven and bedazzled…

    I get sick at the thought that in so many places in the world, because you have a vagina it means you don’t have a voice…

    If my Vagina could talk…it would cuss…A LOT at the state the world is in…

    Again, great post…

    I would put my Vagina behind or in front of yours any day… (again…metaphor)…

    Cheers

  • alfsmith

    Reblogged this on The Twisty Road and commented:
    It’s like she took every word out of my mouth!

    I didn’t do this particular Vagina Monologue when I performed in the play, but I may have to do a performance of it if the argument against planned parenthood (not the organization, but the actual planning of parenthood) and arguments against a woman’s right to choose in the U.S. and Canada continue…

  • Richard Birney-Smith

    Maybe I was in that theatre with you. “The Vagina Monologues” was a powerful play. I’m sorry that so few men were in the audience.

  • ...as in Gump (@ForrestBivens)

    Such a powerful post Karen. Hits on so many things I’ve been thinking of lately.

    Like how Karen Santorum can play the dutiful campaign wife while her husband stands a few feet in front of her at the podium spouting such vileness.

    Or how Rush even still has a show?

    Or how the WOMEN on Fox Network can actually endorse beliefs that place such limits ON THEIR OWN GENDER?

    Yeah. WTF indeed!

    Great post, you go “gurl”! 🙂

  • ...as in Gump (@ForrestBivens)

    One more thing…I had to forward this to every woman I know, and the few men I thought would ‘get it’.

  • Renjie Butalid

    And this is why I love you, Karen!!! 🙂

  • Rhonda Marable (@BigRonnieN)

    Found you through Meg Casserly and love it! Write on, sister, right on!

  • Girls just wanna have fun | KM Cooper

    […] A good one from Curator of DialogueWhy society still needs feminism, on TumblrClara Fritts’ take on feminismA TED Talk that might turn every man who watches it into a feministSerenade my Soul on my articleMen are from Mars, women are from Venus (such bollocks!) […]

Leave a Reply

